• Admin
    Henderson created the topic: Anti Air Microwave Weapon

Hello. I'm a writer researching the possibility of anti-air microwave weapons for a story. I wanted to ask about this and discuss it, if that's OK.

On this topic, China has done something interesting: www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/chinas-new-...r-AAmhJ7J?li=BBnb7Kz

A microwave weapon said to be capable of disabling tanks and missiles, and possibly planes. My interest is largely in the planes part of that, as I'm working on an alien electro-laser microwave weapon, and I'm wondering how it could take down aircraft.

A microwave beam ionizes the air to the target, then electricity sent through this plasma channel to the target. The question was how to effectively disable the planes, which can survive lightning strikes. An electrical engineer friend told me planes do have a lot of static already, so the mixture of microwaves and an opposite electrical charge might be perfect for frying a plane, similarly to how China's anti-missile weapon presumably works.

Does this sound like a plausible weapon? I was wondering if it might use four 5KW microwave emitters for masers, which may, for all I know, be suitable to shoot down planes without electricity.
  • Admin
    Dave replied the topic: Anti Air Microwave Weapon

Hi,

Your question is strikingly similar to a thread from 6 months ago

I think that'll answer your initial questions; have a look and let us know if it raises any more.
  • Admin
    Henderson replied the topic: Anti Air Microwave Weapon

Yes, the thread has a lot of great data, thank you. With the mention of microwave frequency, I figure the aliens can range-find the target then use the frequency which gives them the most power at the given range (possibly adjusting the frequency as the target moves closer/farther).