• Isuru
    I am a beginner for the electromagnetic simulation software. I am referring to the attached picture.
    The green and blue boxes(areas) have different permittivities. The bottom box includes an LC resonator with a planar coil inductor and a parallel plate capacitor. The top box is an antenna. In real life, I am connecting the antenna to a network analyzer and measure the s11 response. I want to simulate this model in a simulation software. The result I need is the s11 plot of the antenna.
    1) Can I use keysight ADS to do this simulation?
    2) If (1) is a yes, can I import an autocad model to ADS and simulate?
    Thanks in advance.

vtu0dpbrfd4ym0aa.jpg
  • madengr
    Yes, ADS, but I'll tell you in terms of Microwave Office, which is what I use. Much more integrated than ADS.

I have done resonator measurements and simulation such as these, but typically you would use a two port (S21) measurement with two loop probes, as you will get much more dynamic range than a reflection measurement. You need very weak coupling to measure the unloaded Q of the resonator, and you probably won't get that with a 1 port measurement, and get an accurate measurement..

Your loop probes must be electrically small and operating below their self resonance, which it looks as if they are, given the geometry.

You haven't stated the boundary conditions; open or closed. Your say it is in a box, but I assume you mean embedded in a brick of dielectric, which has the sides open to free space, rather than in a conducting box.